Hello world!

Marilou Is Everywhere

Author: Sarah Elaine Smith

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780525535263

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 799

Download Now →

Finalist for the L.A. Times Book Prize for First Fiction One of NPR’s Favorite Books of 2019 A SKIMM READS PICK A BELLETRIST BOOK CLUB PICK "This novel reads like a miracle." —NPR Consumed by the longing for a different life, a teenager flees her family and carefully slips into another — replacing a girl whose own sudden disappearance still haunts the town. Fourteen-year-old Cindy and her two older brothers live in rural Pennsylvania, in a house with occasional electricity, two fierce dogs, one book, and a mother who comes and goes for months at a time. Deprived of adult supervision, the siblings rely on one another for nourishment of all kinds. As Cindy's brothers take on new responsibilities for her care, the shadow of danger looms larger and the status quo no longer seems tolerable. So when a glamorous teen from a more affluent, cultured home goes missing, Cindy escapes her own family's poverty and slips into the missing teen's life. As Jude Vanderjohn, Cindy is suddenly surrounded by books and art, by new foods and traditions, and most important, by a startling sense of possibility. In her borrowed life she also finds herself accepting the confused love of a mother who is constitutionally incapable of grasping what has happened to her real daughter. As Cindy experiences overwhelming maternal love for the first time, she must reckon with her own deceits and, in the process, learn what it means to be a daughter, a sister, and a neighbor. Marilou Is Everywhere is a powerful, propulsive portrait of an overlooked girl who finds for the first time that her choices matter.
Marilou Is Everywhere
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Sarah Elaine Smith
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-26 - Publisher: Hamish Hamilton

Richly atmospheric and darkly unforgettable, an astonishing American debut about lost innocence and life on the ragged margins of society 'Lyrical, sexy, humane, and just a total pleasure to read' Elif Batuman, author of The Idiot 'To be honest, we just weren't looking that hard. Nobody knew where to search
Marilou Is Everywhere
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Sarah Elaine Smith
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-30 - Publisher: Penguin

Finalist for the L.A. Times Book Prize for First Fiction One of NPR’s Favorite Books of 2019 A SKIMM READS PICK A BELLETRIST BOOK CLUB PICK "This novel reads like a miracle." —NPR Consumed by the longing for a different life, a teenager flees her family and carefully slips into
Marilou is Everywhere
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Sarah Elaine Smith
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-08-01 - Publisher: Penguin UK

SHORTLISTED FOR THE LA TIMES BOOK PRIZE For fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous, a richly atmospheric debut about lost innocence and rural America... 'Remarkable. This novel reads like a miracle' NPR 'Brimming with longing, with heartbreak' New York Times Jude is popular, beautiful,
Marilou
Language: en
Pages: 111
Authors: Gl-Girl Publishing
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-21 - Publisher:

★ Are you looking for a lovingly designed book with the personal name for you or your mother, sister, girlfriend, wife or friend? ★ This Cute book is ideal as a personal gift for anyone who likes to write memories or Record. Ideal for reminders, daily notes, ideas, activities, plans,
Once Upon a Time and Stories from Around the World
Language: en
Pages: 188
Authors: Rosaria M. Wills
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-09-19 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

This book is a recollection of the author life during World War II, her life with her husband. Poems written by her husband and short stories with moral meaning.