Hello world!

Better Luck Next Time

Author: Julia Claiborne Johnson

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780062916396

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 654

Download Now →

"Do you want to read something funny? Let’s say, a novel set at a divorce ranch in Reno in the 1930s? A book with memorably eccentric characters, sparkling dialogue, a satisfying plot twist, and some romance and sex? A feel-good literary comedy/western? Here it is, then, the book you've been looking for: Julia Claiborne Johnson’s Better Luck Next Time."—Julie Schumacher, author of Dear Committee Members and The Shakespeare Requirement The eagerly anticipated second novel from the bestselling author of Be Frank with Me, a charming story of endings, new beginnings, and the complexities and complications of friendship and love, set in late 1930s Reno. It’s 1938 and women seeking a quick, no-questions split from their husbands head to the “divorce capital of the world,” Reno, Nevada. There’s one catch: they have to wait six-weeks to become “residents.” Many of these wealthy, soon-to-be divorcees flock to the Flying Leap, a dude ranch that caters to their every need. Twenty-four-year-old Ward spent one year at Yale before his family lost everything in the Great Depression; now he’s earning an honest living as a ranch hand at the Flying Leap. Admired for his dashing good looks—“Cary Grant in cowboy boots”—Ward thinks he’s got the Flying Leap’s clients all figured out. But two new guests are about to upend everything he thinks he knows: Nina, a St Louis heiress and amateur pilot back for her third divorce, and Emily, whose bravest moment in life was leaving her cheating husband back in San Francisco and driving herself to Reno. A novel about divorce, marriage, and everything that comes in between (money, class, ambition, and opportunity), Better Luck Next Time is a hilarious yet poignant examination of the ways friendship can save us, love can destroy us, and the family we create can be stronger than the family we come from.
Better Luck Next Time
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Julia Claiborne Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-01-05 - Publisher: HarperCollins

"Do you want to read something funny? Let’s say, a novel set at a divorce ranch in Reno in the 1930s? A book with memorably eccentric characters, sparkling dialogue, a satisfying plot twist, and some romance and sex? A feel-good literary comedy/western? Here it is, then, the book you've been
Better Luck Next Time
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Kate Hilton
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-06-16 - Publisher:

A brilliant generational family comedy for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld and Nora Ephron, and television's This Is Us, Offspring and Parenthood.
Better Luck Next Time
Language: en
Pages: 423
Authors: Denise Grover Swank, A.R. Casella
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-17 - Publisher: DGS

The last person she wants might be the second chance she needs. ***Standalone romance with a HEA!*** Adalia Buchanan broke up with art, but it won’t break up with her. So she paints in secret, then destroys her work. Her mentor stole her art months ago, and she’ll never share
Better Luck Next Time
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Bitwise (Musical group)
Categories: Electronic music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012 - Publisher:

Books about Better Luck Next Time
Better Luck Next Time... and It Would Be Different
Language: en
Pages: 78
Authors: Tim Smit
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-11-07 - Publisher: America Star Books

In retrospect, highly detailed preparations have been made in the previous months. It was highly underestimated so that proceeds from the day of departure happened other than predicted, and above all else than hoped. It was a travelogue that was purely written, described and defined from the sense of the