Hello world!

A Songbird in Wartime

Author: Karen Dickson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781398503656

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 387

Download Now →

A brand new wartime family saga, perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Val Wood Shaftesbury, 1936. Mansfield House Hotel has been a refuge for Emily ever since she was orphaned at the age of 16. Not only did they give her employment as a chambermaid, but it’s also where she met her fiancé Tom. When theatre agent Roland stays at the hotel and hears Emily singing, he is determined to take her away to Bristol and make her a star. But knowing she'd never leave her fiancé, he hatches a plan to get Emily away from Tom. Six years later, Emily has made a name for herself as 'The Bristol Songbird'. Her love for Tom is still as strong as ever, but she's not heard from him since that fateful night so long ago. And with the world enveloped in a war, it seems unlikely the two will ever meet again. Will Emily and Tom ever find their way back to one another? Or will the war – and Roland – succeed in keeping them apart? Praise for Karen Dickson: ‘A compelling saga that will hold you fast from the first page to the last. Loved it’ VAL WOOD, author of The Lonely Wife 'This rollercoaster of a novel draws you in from the first page… I devoured this in one sitting and look forward to more from this author. In short a gem of a read' FIONA FORD, author of Wartime at Liberty's 'A delight to read... Lily Hayter is a wonderful heroine whose resilience and integrity shine through as she struggles to claim a life of her choosing and find a family. At the heart of the story is a warmth and humanity that makes it a truly uplifting read. I thoroughly enjoyed it and was sorry when I reached the end because I wanted to linger in Dickson’s world. I eagerly await more from Karen Dickson' VICKI BEEBY, author of The Ops Room Girls ‘An exciting, fresh and talented new voice – a five-star read!’ CAROL RIVERS, author of Molly’s Christmas Orphans 'The characters in this novel are so believable that I cared deeply about them from the first chapter. A heartfelt, hopeful account of one young woman’s fight to keep her child safe when all the odds are against her. Atmospheric and beautifully written' JAN CASEY, author of The Women of Waterloo Bridge
A Songbird in Wartime
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Karen Dickson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-12-09 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

A brand new wartime family saga, perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Val Wood Shaftesbury, 1936. Mansfield House Hotel has been a refuge for Emily ever since she was orphaned at the age of 16. Not only did they give her employment as a chambermaid, but it’s also where
British Literature in Transition, 1940-1960: Postwar
Language: en
Pages: 438
Authors: Gill Plain
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-12-20 - Publisher: Cambridge University Press

Examines debates central to postwar British culture, showing the pressures of reconstruction and the mutual implication of war and peace.
Songs of Love and War
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Dominic Couzens
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-04-06 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

The dawn chorus: a single voice cutting through the darkness heralds a breaking wave of sound at the very beginning of the day. It is an iconic natural phenomenon with many familiar performers, yet it is a mysterious event for which there is no complete explanation. A mass of starlings
The Pilgrim Queen. A cantata for treble voices ... The words by Mrs. A. Roberts
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Charles Oberthür
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 1860 - Publisher:

Books about The Pilgrim Queen. A cantata for treble voices ... The words by Mrs. A. Roberts
NieR: Automata World Guide Volume 2
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Square Enix
Categories: Games & Activities
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-12-15 - Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

Over 300 full-color pages collected into a hardcover volume that explores the secrets and strategies of Square Enix's NieR:Automata! Revisit the characters, combat, and environment that enchanted players with stunning action and profound adventure from video game director Yoko Taro. Discover the intricacies of Submergence City, learn more about the