Hello world!

A Paris Apartment

Author: Michelle Gable

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 9781466849624

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 549

Download Now →

The New York Times Best Seller! Now with an excerpt of Michelle's new book, I'll See You in Paris! Bienvenue à Paris! When April Vogt's boss tells her about an apartment in the ninth arrondissement that has been discovered after being shuttered for the past seventy years, the Sotheby's continental furniture specialist does not hear the words "dust" or "rats" or "decrepit." She hears Paris. She hears escape. Once in France, April quickly learns the apartment is not merely some rich hoarder's repository. Beneath the cobwebs and stale perfumed air is a goldmine, and not because of the actual gold (or painted ostrich eggs or mounted rhinoceros horns or bronze bathtub). First, there's a portrait by one of the masters of the Belle Epoque, Giovanni Boldini. And then there are letters and journals written by the very woman in the painting, Marthe de Florian. These documents reveal that she was more than a renowned courtesan with enviable decolletage. Suddenly April's quest is no longer about the bureaux plats and Louis-style armchairs that will fetch millions at auction. It's about discovering the story behind this charismatic woman. It's about discovering two women, actually. With the help of a salty (and annoyingly sexy) Parisian solicitor and the courtesan's private diaries, April tries to uncover the many secrets buried in the apartment. As she digs into Marthe's life, April can't help but take a deeper look into her own. Having left behind in the States a cheating husband, a family crisis about to erupt, and a career she's been using as the crutch to simply get by, she feels compelled to sort out her own life too. When the things she left bubbling back home begin to boil over, and Parisian delicacies beyond flaky pâtisseries tempt her better judgment, April knows that both she and Marthe deserve happy finales. Whether accompanied by croissants or champagne, this delectable debut novel depicts the Paris of the Belle Epoque and the present day with vibrant and stunning allure. Based on historical events, Michelle Gable's A Paris Apartment will entertain and inspire, as readers embrace the struggles and successes of two very unforgettable women.
A Paris Apartment
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Michelle Gable
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-22 - Publisher: Macmillan

The New York Times Best Seller! Now with an excerpt of Michelle's new book, I'll See You in Paris! Bienvenue à Paris! When April Vogt's boss tells her about an apartment in the ninth arrondissement that has been discovered after being shuttered for the past seventy years, the Sotheby's continental
The Paris Apartment
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Kelly Bowen
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-20 - Publisher: Forever

A heart-wrenching novel that unearths generations of secrets and sacrifices -- perfect for fans of The Paris Orphan and The Lost Girls of Paris. When a woman inherits a Parisian apartment undisturbed since WWII, she discovers that it may hold the key to unraveling her cold and distant great-grandmother's secret
The Paris Apartment
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: Lucy Foley
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-15 - Publisher: HarperLuxe

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Guest List comes a new locked room mystery, set in a Paris apartment building in which every resident has something to hide... Jess needs a fresh start. She's broke and alone, and she's just left her job under less than ideal
The Paris Apartment
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Kelly Bowen
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-20 - Publisher: Hachette UK

This heart-wrenching novel about family and war unearths generations of secrets and sacrifices—perfect for fans of The Paris Orphan and The Lost Girls of Paris. 2017, London: When Aurelia Leclaire inherits an opulent Paris apartment, she is shocked to discover her grandmother’s hidden secrets—including a treasure trove of famous art
The Paris Apartment
Language: en
Pages: 143
Authors: Cl Strasser
Categories: House & Home
Type: BOOK - Published: 1997 - Publisher: Harper Collins

Shows how to decorate one's apartment using romantic themes, including a Moorish palace, Parisian cabaret, medieval tower, and a Victorian parlor